Safer and Stronger Communities Scrutiny and Policy Development Committee

Thursday 8 December 2016 at 4.00 pm

To be held at the Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

Membership

Councillors Tony Damms (Chair), Nasima Akther, Sue Auckland, Michelle Cook, Richard Crowther, Dawn Dale, Keith Davis, Tony Downing, Adam Hanrahan, Mark Jones, George Lindars-Hammond, Magid Magid, Anne Murphy, Richard Shaw (Deputy Chair) and Zoe Sykes

Substitute Members

In accordance with the Constitution, Substitute Members may be provided for the above Committee Members as and when required.



PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Safer and Stronger Communities Scrutiny Committee exercises an overview and scrutiny function in respect of the planning, development and monitoring of performance and delivery of services which aim to make Sheffield a safer, stronger and more sustainable city for all of its residents.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at www.sheffield.gov.uk. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Scrutiny Committee meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Scrutiny Committee meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Committee may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

If you require any further information about this Scrutiny Committee, please contact Diane Owens, Policy and Improvement Officer, on 0114 2735065 or email diane.owens@sheffield.gov.uk

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

SAFER AND STRONGER COMMUNITIES SCRUTINY AND POLICY DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE AGENDA 8 DECEMBER 2016

Order of Business

1. Welcome and Housekeeping Arrangements

2. Apologies for Absence

3. Exclusion of Public and Press

To identify items where resolutions may be moved to exclude the press and public

4. Declarations of Interest

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting

5. Minutes of Previous Meeting

To approve the minutes of the meeting of the Committee held on 20 October 2016

6. Public Questions and Petitions

To receive any questions or petitions from members of the public

7. Welfare Reform Update

Report of the Director of Policy, Performance and Communications

8. Challenge for Change: The Council Housing Service's Preparation for the Implementation of Universal Credit

Report of the Challenge for Change Tenant Scrutiny Group

9. Financial Inclusion

Report of the Director of Policy, Performance and Communications

10. Hate Crime Task Group

The Chair, Councillor Tony Damms, to report

11. Work Programme 2016/17

Report of the Policy and Improvement Officer

For Information Only

12. Hate Crime and Hate Incidents: 1 November 2014 - 31 October 2016Report of the Anti-Social Behaviour and Community Safety Team

13. Written Responses to Public Questions

Report of the Policy and Improvement Officer

14.

Date of Next MeetingThe next meeting of the Committee will be held on Thursday 16 February 2017 at 4.00pm in the Town Hall